



NMMA 2024 — CALL FOR ENTRIES

- The Award is open to all men and women practising Journalism in Nigeria.
- Entries are hereby invited from the Media for works done in the Year 2023 for the Nigeria Media Merit Award Programme 2024
- In addition to its prestige, each award winner is presented a Trophy (The Golden Gong of Excellence), a Certificate and a specific prize money

AWARD CATEGORIES IN PRINT. RADIO & TELEVISION

PRINT CATEGORY (A)

- Bashorun M.K.O. Abiola Prize for Sports Reporter of the Year 1)
- Sonny Odogwu Prize for Business Reporter of the Year
- Olu Aboderin Prize for Entertainment Reporter of the Year
- Peter Odili Prize for Power Reporter of the Year
- Bukola Saraki Prize for Agriculture Reporter of the Year
- Olagunsoye Oyinlola Prize for Culture & Tradition Reporter of the Year
- Ibrahim Shekarau Prize for Education Reporter of the Year
- Gani Fawehinmi Prize for Human Rights Reporter of the Year
- Olusegun Mimiko Prize for Foreign News Reporter of the Year.
- Buba Marwa Prize for Defence Reporter of the Year
- Adamu Mu'azu Prize for Tourism Reporter of the Year 11)
- Lateef Jakande Prize for Political Reporter of the Year 12)
- 13) News Photographer of the Year

PRINT CATEGORY

- Keystone Bank Prize for CSR Reporter of the Year 1)
- Notore Chemical Prize for Environment Reporter of the Year
- Conoil Prize for Energy Correspondent of the Year
- IGI Prize for Insurance Reporter of the Year
- Union Bank Prize for Banking & Finance Reporter of the Year Access Bank Prize for Capital Market Reporter of the Year
- Nigeria Ports Authority Prize for Maritime Reporter of the Year
- **UBA Prize for Money Market Reporter of the Year** Coca-Cola Nigeria Prize for Brand & Marketing Reporter of the Year
- Chevron Nigeria Prize for Oil & Gas Reporter of the Year
- MTN Prize for Telecommunications Reporter of the Year
- Nigerite Prize for Real Estate/Construction Reporter of the Year
- Aviation Industry Reporter of the Year

PRINT CATEGORY

- Nnamdi Azikiwe Prize for Cartoonist of the Year
- Abubakar Imam Prize for Newspaper Features W<mark>riter of</mark> the Year
- Rufkatu Danjuma Prize for Public Health Reporter of the Year Prize for Female Reporter of the Year
- Etisalat Prize for Most innovative Reporter of the Year
- Alex Ibru Prize for Investigative Reporter of the Year Ernest Sisei Ikoli Prize for Newspaper Reporter of the Year
- Cecil King Memorial Prize for Print Journalist of the Year
- Alade Odunewu Prize for Columnist of the year
- Prize for Editorial Writing of the Year
- Dele Giwa Prize for Editor of the Year
- First Bank Prize for Business Publication of the Year
- 13 FrieslandCampina - Prize for Newsmagazine of the Year
 - Babatunde Jose Prize for Newspaper of the Year

RADIO CATEGORY

- Radio Reporter of the Year 1)
- 2) Radio Presenter of the Year
- George Bako Prize for Radio Broadcaster of the Year
- Radio Production of the Year
- Radio Programme of the Year
- 6) NBC Prize for Radio Station of the Year

TELEVISION CATEGORY

- Cadbury Nigeria Prize for Television Reporter of the Year
- Television Newscaster of the Year
- Television Programme Presenter of the Year
- Television Production of the Year
- Television Drama of the Year
- NBC Prize for Television Station of the Year

CRITERIA FOR ASSESSMENT

Print: Factuality, accuracy, originality, language (conscience, clarity, balance & objectivity, human interest, freshness of ideas, creativity, caption ability (Press Photograph).

Electronic Media (As applicable): Knowledge of the subject matter, depth, confidence, appeal to positive emotion, eye and body communication, social responsibility. Ability to generate & hold interest, touch of the dramatic, courage, breaking of new ground, full exploitation of the medium, technical execution, level of adherence to NBC code, quality and level of professionalism.

FORMAT FOR ENTRIES SUBMISSION

- Entries should be original copies of the works done during the year 2023
- (One original copy and four photocopies of each entry acceptable) Entry should be accompanied with the Curriculum Vitae and two passport size photographs of the author.
- Entrants are advised to mark "NMMA 2023 ENTRY" on the top left hand corner of the envelopes/packages.
- Entries should specify the award category for which the work is presented.
- Entries should not exceed two for any particular category from one entrant.
- F. Same entry should not be submitted for two different categories.
- G. Entries for the Columnist of the Year must be four articles published, in each quarter of the Year.
- Entries for the News Photographer of the Year must be published cut-out photograph(s) in black and white or in colour with name and address of the photographer(s) at the back of each print, and date of the Newspaper/Magazine Publication.
- Entries in the electronic category are expected in five copies of the recordings which become properties of the NMMA. The copyrights of such tapes will be protected. Entries should be accompanied with relevant synopsis & must be titled.
- Entrants may send Flash Drive, Ordinary CDs (Audio) & DVDs (Video) for electronic entries
- Entries submitted will not be returned.
- Date(s) of Broadcast must be displayed on electronic media entries submitted for reference purposes.
- Joint entry by two or more journalists would be disqualified (Print & Electronic)
- Only one CD/DVD should be used to record/submit one entry. Multiple entries on one CD/DVD would be disqualified.
- Any entry that does not meet the above guidelines or format may be disqualified.

ENTRIES CAN BE SUBMITTED BY

- The author of the work. (1)
- Media Establishments in recognition of outstanding works of the employees.
- Institutions, organizations or individuals who appreciate any outstanding
- work in the media: print, radio or television with due consent. Radio & TV Entries: Members of the general public can send nominations on
- Radio & TV categories especially the Broadcast Station of the Year (Radio & Television) to the NMMA through the nearest National Broadcasting Commission's (NBC) zonal offices in: ABUJA, KANO, BENIN CITY, UMUAHIA, IKEJA, MAIDUGURI, JOS



ENTRIES NOT PROPERLY SUBMITTED MAY BE DISOUALIFIED

Entries, stating details of the work including medium, date and other relevant information should be sent directly or through Media Companies to the NMMA office as provided below.

ALL ENTRIES SHOULD BE RECEIVED LATEST: 31ST AUG 2024



The Chairman Panel Of Assessors % IDEAS COMMUNICATIONS LTD.,

48 Sobo Arobiodu Street, Ikeja GRA, Ikeja Lagos. P.O. Box 6728, Ikeja. E-mail: nmma.awards@gmail.com Tel: 0704 0088 000, 0901 8140 800 Facebook.com/The Nigeria Media Merit Award-NMMA

●All Rights Reserved —

The Board of Trustees reserves all rights on the process and procedures for conducting the Awards Scheme.

Chairman, Board of Trustees -NMMA.LBG

