Freelance journalists can apply for Rory Peck Awards

rory peck

DEADLINE: AUGUST 10, 2020 ― Freelance journalists including reporters, filmmakers, photojournalists and camera operators across the world can apply for the Rory Peck Awards

The Rory Peck Awards which was established in 1995 aims to give freelance journalists the ​​recognition they deserve by rewarding the most outstanding work​ produced each year and highlighting the significant contribution by freelancers to the international media industry.

The Rory Peck Awards has been celebrating the work of freelance journalists working in news and current affairs worldwide for the last 25 years.

The Awards are now open for entries, with an entry deadline of Monday 10th August. See the full entry criteria and descriptions of the Award categories here.

The four categories of the awards focus on international news and current affairs, with one category dedicated specifically to local journalists and field producers.

Only works that must have been broadcast in the past year can be submitted for the awards.

Works of the awards’ finalists will be given additional exposure to international media outlets and top industry professionals.

Finalists will also attend the awards ceremony in London where they will have the opportunity to meet valuable industry contacts and take part in networking events.

Finalists will also gain international recognition for their works at one of the world’s most established and respected awards for freelancers – as well as a cash prize.





World Press Freedom Conference 2020 to hold online

Owing to the effects of the COVID19 pandemic, the World Press Freedom Conference 2020 (WPFC 2020) is to take the form of a Global Digital Event. READ HERE


12th Wole Soyinka Centre Media Lecture Series to hold online July 13

The 12th edition of the annual Wole Soyinka Centre Media Lecture Series is set to hold as a webinar on Monday, 13 July 2020, from 10am to 12noon West Africa Time (WAT). REGISTER HERE


Apply for One World Media 2020 Coronavirus Reporting Award 

DEADLINE: JULY 30, 2010 ― Applications are now open for the Coronavirus Reporting Award 2020. The award is supported by the European Bank for Reconstruction and Development (EBRD). APPLY HERE


Apply for Alfred Friendly Press Fellowship

DEADLINE: AUGUST 31, 2020 Applications are now open for the Alfred Friendly Press fellows worldwide. APPLY HERE


Africa Check to train Nigerian journalists on COVID-19 misinformation

DEADLINE: JULY 9, 2020 ― Interested Nigerian journalists can apply to attend an online workshop by Africa Check on the spread of health-related misinformation in the age of COVID-19. APPLY HERE


See full list of 25 most powerful Nigerian female journalists

Women in Journalism Africa (WiJAfrica) has announced the full list of 25 most powerful female journalists in Nigeria. READ HERE


Apply for the African Fact-Checking Awards

DEADLINE: JULY 22, 2020 ― Interested applicants can now apply for the 2020 edition of the annual African Fact-Checking Awards. APPLY HERE