FULL LIST: Winners at the 2019 Diamond Award for Media Excellence (DAME)

DAME 2019
Cross section of some of the winners of the award
The Trustees of DAME have congratulated winners who were inducted into the DAME Hall of FAME on Sunday, December 29, 2019, at the Lagos Sheraton Hotel, Ikeja.
The DAME awards which was launched in 1991 is Africa’s longest media awards programme.
Below are the full list of winners at the 28th edition of the awards;
Category: Agriculture Reporting
Winner: Chikeodi Okereocha, The Nation – How smuggling stalls rice self-sufficiency target
First runner-up: Dauda Sulaimon, The Nation – ETLS: Conduit for palm oil smuggling
Second runner-up: Isioma Madike, New Telegraph – Fish farming: Graduates response to Nigeria’s unemployment crisis 
Category: Best Designed Newspaper
Winner: The Punch
First runner-up: This Day Newspaper
Second runner-up: Vanguard Newspaper
Category: Child-Friendly Reporting
Sponsor: UNICEF & NGE
Winner: John Chikezie, New Telegraph
Category: Child-Friendly Medium
Sponsor:   UNICEF
Winner: Daily Trust
First runner-up: This Day
Second runner-up: Vanguard
Category: Editorial Cartooning
Sponsor: Vanguard Media Ltd. 
Winner: Bennet Omeke, The Punch – Power of the Broom?
Category: Editorial Writing
Sponsor: In Memory of Tunji Oseni, fnge 
Winner: The Punch
Category: Education Reporting
Sponsor: Joint Admission Matriculations Board
Winner: Cletus Ukpong, Premium Times – Learning in tears: Inside the massive decay in public schools in oil-rich Akwa Ibom
First Runner-up: Afeez Hanafi, The Punch – Double trouble for visually impaired pupils in Nigerian schools
Second Runner-up: Kofoworaola Belo-Osagie, The Nation – Out of school… Out of Touch

Category: Informed Commentary
Winner: Lasisi Olagunju, Nigerian Tribune
Category: Investigative Reporting
Sponsor:  Sam Amuka Media Fund
Winner:  Fisayo Soyombo, The Cable – with N46, 000, I drove a ‘stolen’ car from Abuja to Lagos and back 
First runner-up: Abdulaziz Abdulaziz, Premium Times – How Saraki’s National Assembly spent N6.6 billion Adeosun largesse on exotic cars
Second runner-up: Innocent Duru, The Nation – Failed Constituency projects rock Ekiti Communities
Category: Judiciary Reporting
Sponsor: Hon. Justice M. O. Onalaja Memorial Prize
Winner: Joseph Jibueze, The Nation
Category: Lagos Reporting
Sponsor: Lagos State Government 
Winner: Nicholas Ibekwe, Premium Times – How Lagos govt sidelined local operators for foreign company with no experience in waste collection
First runner-up: Tope Omogbolagun, The Punch – Lagos dump where scavengers trade in used syringes, other surgical waste
Second runner-up: Tunbosun Ogundare, Nigerian Tribune – Drama as Lagos teachers use pidgin to teach on Yoruba Day
Category: News Photography
Sponsor: Media Review 
Winner: Saheed Olugbon, The Punch – Fifteen years after retirement, struggle continues
Category: Nutrition Reporting 
Sponsor: Nestle Plc
Winner:  Chioma Obinna, Vanguard
Category: Sports Reporting
Sponsor: In Memory of Simeon. O. Idowu
Winner: Taiwo Alimi, The Nation
Category: Television Documentary 
Winner: Nkoli Omhoudu, AIT
Category: Newspaper of the Year
Winner: The Punch
First runners-up: The Nation
Second runners-up: Premium Times
Category: Editor of the Year
Sponsor: Nigerian Guild of Editors
Winner: Martin Ayankola, The Punch
First runners-up: Gbenga Omotosho, The Nation
Second runners-up: Muskilu Mojeed, Premium Times
DAME Lifetime Achievement Award: Nigerian Tribune