Kurt Schork Awards in International Journalism

DEADLINE: MAY 31, 2022 —The Kurt Schork Memorial Fund invites freelance journalists, local reporters and news fixers from all over the world to enter its 2022 Awards in International Journalism.

The awards recognise excellence in courageous reporting of conflict, corruption, human rights transgressions and other related issues.

Entries can be submitted in three categories: Freelance Award, Local Reporter Award, and News Fixer Award

Entrants for the Freelance Award and Local Reporter Award must submit three articles each while the News Fixer Award requires journalists to submit a nomination on behalf of a fixer who has assisted them with a story.

All articles must have been published between June 01, 2021 and May 31, 2022.

Three winners will each receive a prize of $5,000.

The deadline to apply is May 31, 2022.



Mongabay seeks stories about Africa

Mongabay invites proposals from journalists for conventional news stories, in-depth features, investigative reports, profiles, and case studies. APPLY HERE

Gender equality grants at Pulitzer Center

DEADLINE: ROLLING —The Pulitzer Center on Crisis Reporting seeks to offer gender equality grants for investigative data-driven projects. APPLY HERE

Jamlab seeks entries for media database in Africa

Jamlab seeks to build a media database of established independent digital journalism and media organisations in Africa. APPLY HERE

Call for applications: RCDIJ Africa Fund

DEADLINE: ROLLING —The RCDIJ Africa Fund is currently open for applications from journalists across Africa. APPLY HERE

Writers can submit entries for China Writing Contest

DEADLINE: APRIL 30, 2022 —Writers from around the world are invited to submit nonfiction entries for the Sixth Tone’s first “China Writing Contest.” APPLY HERE

Apply for EJN’s coastal resilience media grants 2022

DEADLINE: MAY 2, 2022 — The Earth Journalism Network (EJN) is offering organisational grants to support media and journalism activities related to coastal resilience. APPLY HERE

Submit entries for 2022 Global Peace Photo Award

DEADLINE: MAY 22, 2022 — Photographers around the world are invited to submit entries for the 2022 Global Peace Photo Award. APPLY HERE

NAMIP innovation challenge for Nigerian media

DEADLINE: MAY 31, 2022 —Applications are invited for the Nigeria Media Innovation Programme (NAMIP) innovation challenge for Nigerian media. Winners will receive up to $50,000 for their project. APPLY HERE