Osinbajo, Smart-Cole, Amnesty to be honoured as Wole Soyinka Awards unveils finalists 

WSAIR, Wole Soyinka Awards, Investigative Reporting

Thirteen journalists from print, online, television, radio, photo, and editorial cartoon categories have been shortlisted for the 2019 Wole Soyinka Award for Investigative Journalism.

Similarly, Vice President Yemi Osinbajo, Amnesty International and veteran photojournalist, Sunmi Smart-Cole, have been nominated to receive honorary awards at the 14th edition of the award.

According to a press release signed by the Executive Director/Chief Executive Officer, Motunrayo Alaka, the event will hold at NECA House, Lagos, on Monday, 9th December 2019 by 6 pm.

The journalists were shortlisted from one hundred and ninety-four entries received by the organisers.

Finalists for the Print Category include Oladimeji Ramon of The Punch, Chinwe Agbeze of The Sun, Samson Folarin of The Punch.

Those in the Online Category include Chikezie Omeje of International Centre for Investigative Reporting (ICIR), Isine Ibanga of The Next Edition and Damilola Banjo of Sahara Reporters.

Those in the Photo Category include Ayodele Adeniran of Guardian; Saheed Olugbon of The Punch and Odutayo Odusanya of The Punch.

Others are Albert Ohams of The Sun in the Editorial Cartoon Category, Mary Abayomi-Fatile of Federal Radio Corporation of Nigeria (FRCN) in the Radio Category while Sharon Ijasan of TVC News and Samuel-Wemimo Bukola of TVC News emerged finalists in the TV Category.

ALSO READ: I have found new niche as a writer ― Mike Awoyinfa

The release reads: “Yemi Osinbajo, Nigeria’s Vice President, will be presented the Integrity specialty of the Anti-Corruption Defender Award for his invaluable work of overhauling the Lagos State Judiciary, facilitating far-reaching reforms in the administration of justice in the state, his work of promoting integrity in the civil society and business in Nigeria and his consistency as a strong voice for promoting integrity in the country.

“On the other hand, Amnesty International, a global movement promoting human rights in Nigeria and beyond, will be honoured with the Human Rights Specialty of the Anti-Corruption Defender Award for its remarkable voice against human rights violations and oppressive laws, and its efforts to defend freedom of expression in Nigeria.

“Veteran photojournalist, Sunmi Smart-Cole will also be honoured with the Lifetime Award for Journalistic Excellence for his outstanding contribution to journalism exhibited by his beautiful and evincing pictures particularly during the military era in Nigeria and his commitment to mentoring the next generation of photojournalists.

“The award presentation event is held annually on December 9, the World Anti-corruption Day and eve of the Human Rights Day, to acknowledge best practices in investigative journalism and call attention for attaining good governance, accountability, and social justice.

“It has produced 91 finalists, 9 investigative journalists of the year and 20 honorary awards recipients so far.”