2019 AMDF Journalist of the Year Award holds December

Africa Media Development Foundation (AMDF) has announced that the 2019 AMDF Journalist of the Year Award will hold in Kaduna December 10th and 12th.

The foundation also revealed that it has received 25 entries from Nigerian journalists for in respect of the 3red edition of the award.

This was made known in a news release issued by the foundation’s Executive Director, Iliya Kure.

The release added that the Award will be presented at the 2019 African Conference on Development Journalism (#ACDJ 2019) slated for 10th – 12th December 2019 in Kaduna, Nigeria.

It added that the 25 works collated for the 2019 are currently being assessed by a panel of five media experts selected from across the country.

ALSO READ: African journalists, scientists urged to popularise science communication

According to AMDF, the panel of judges to be chaired by Managing Editor, Africa Prime News, Kaduna, Nigeria, Joseph Edegbo also has Head, Department of Mass Communication, Federal Polytechnic Nekede, Sheba Tayo-Garbson; former Deputy Director News, Federal Radio Corporation of Nigeria (FRCN), Miriam Menkiti.

Others include former Editor, New Nigerian Weekly, Andrew Fadason and veteran award-winning journalist, media & communications specialist, Bolaji Adepegba.

The award which is the 3rd edition, was introduced in 2016 to honour journalism works that are professionally and ethically written.

It was initially a closed process, until this year when AMDF changed the approach and announced call for entries from Nigerian journalists between 1st and 30th September.

Past winners of the award include Christiana Alabi of Daily Trust Newspapers in 2016, and Ibrahima Yakubu of Deutsche Welle Radio in 2017.