2022 Kurt Schork Awards in International Journalism

DEADLINE: MAY 31, 2022 —The Kurt Schork Memorial Fund (KSMF) is currently accepting submissions for its 2022 Awards in International Journalism.

The Awards honour and recognise excellence in courageous reporting of conflict, corruption, human rights transgressions and other related issues.

Journalists can apply for any of the three Award categories: Freelance Award, Local Reporter Award, and News Fixer Award.

The winner in each category will receive a cash prize of $5,000.

Entrants for the Freelance Award and Local Reporter Award must submit three articles each.

For the News Fixer Award, journalists are required to submit a nomination on behalf of a fixer who has assisted them with a story.

Articles must have been published between June 1, 2021 and May 31, 2022.

The organisers accept articles from print-based medium (newspapers and magazines) or established online publications.

The deadline for entries is May 31, 2022.



Mongabay seeks stories about Africa

Mongabay invites proposals from journalists for conventional news stories, in-depth features, investigative reports, profiles, and case studies. APPLY HERE

Gender equality grants at Pulitzer Center

DEADLINE: ROLLING —The Pulitzer Center on Crisis Reporting seeks to offer gender equality grants for investigative data-driven projects. APPLY HERE

Jamlab seeks entries for media database in Africa

Jamlab seeks to build a media database of established independent digital journalism and media organisations in Africa. APPLY HERE

Call for applications: RCDIJ Africa Fund

DEADLINE: ROLLING —The RCDIJ Africa Fund is currently open for applications from journalists across Africa. APPLY HERE

Journalists can apply for collaborative reporting grants

DEADLINE: ROLLING —The Environmental Reporting Collective (ERC) invites media outlets, journalists, and freelancers to apply for its collaborative reporting grants. APPLY HERE

Grants available for environmental investigative journalism

DEADLINE: MARCH 3, 2022 –Journalismfund.eu is offering enabling services grants to support environmental investigative journalism as a whole. APPLY HERE

Call for nominations: Courage in Journalism Awards

DEADLINE: MARCH 19, 2022 –Nominations are invited for the International Women’s Media Foundation (IWMF)’s annual Courage in Journalism Awards. APPLY HERE

The Donald W. Reynolds Journalism Institute

DEADLINE: MARCH 25, 2022 –The Donald W. Reynolds Journalism Institute seeks proposals from innovative individuals and organisations for its 8-month fellowship. APPLY HERE

DW Akademie Master Degree scholarships for journalists

DEADLINE: MARCH 31, 2022 —The Deutsche Welle (DW) Akademie invites applications from journalists for its Master Degree scholarships. APPLY HERE

Writers can submit entries for China Writing Contest

DEADLINE: APRIL 30, 2022 —Writers from around the world are invited to submit nonfiction entries for the Sixth Tone’s first “China Writing Contest.” APPLY HERE