Apply for 2022 Covering Climate Now journalism awards

DEADLINE: MARCH 8, 2022 —Journalists from around the world can submit entries for the 2022 Covering Climate Now Journalism Awards.

The Covering Climate Now journalism awards celebrate excellent reporting on all dimensions of climate story.

Entries will be considered in the following categories and subcategories:

1. Writing — including subcategories Daily Coverage, Feature Writing (short and long-form), Investigative Journalism, Newsletters, and Commentary

2. Audio — including subcategories Daily Coverage, Features (short and long-form), and Radio or Podcast Series

3. Video — including subcategories Daily Coverage and Features (short and long-form)

4. Multimedia

5. Photography

6. Social Media & Engagement

7. Industry Innovation

8. Emerging Journalist

9. Student Journalist

Entries must have been published, broadcast or released in 2021.

Journalists (including freelancers), newsrooms, and journalism schools are encouraged to enter.

The deadline for submissions is March 1, 2022.



Mongabay seeks stories about Africa

Mongabay invites proposals from journalists for conventional news stories, in-depth features, investigative reports, profiles, and case studies. APPLY HERE

Gender equality grants at Pulitzer Center

DEADLINE: ROLLING —The Pulitzer Center on Crisis Reporting seeks to offer gender equality grants for investigative data-driven projects. APPLY HERE

Jamlab seeks entries for media database in Africa

Jamlab seeks to build a media database of established independent digital journalism and media organisations in Africa. APPLY HERE

Call for applications: RCDIJ Africa Fund

DEADLINE: ROLLING —The RCDIJ Africa Fund is currently open for applications from journalists across Africa. APPLY HERE

Journalists can apply for collaborative reporting grants

DEADLINE: ROLLING —The Environmental Reporting Collective (ERC) invites media outlets, journalists, and freelancers to apply for its collaborative reporting grants. APPLY HERE

Grants available for environmental investigative journalism

DEADLINE: MARCH 3, 2022 – is offering enabling services grants to support environmental investigative journalism as a whole. APPLY HERE

Call for nominations: Courage in Journalism Awards

DEADLINE: MARCH 19, 2022 –Nominations are invited for the International Women’s Media Foundation (IWMF)’s annual Courage in Journalism Awards. APPLY HERE

The Donald W. Reynolds Journalism Institute

DEADLINE: MARCH 25, 2022 –The Donald W. Reynolds Journalism Institute seeks proposals from innovative individuals and organisations for its 8-month fellowship. APPLY HERE

DW Akademie Master Degree scholarships for journalists

DEADLINE: MARCH 31, 2022 —The Deutsche Welle (DW) Akademie invites applications from journalists for its Master Degree scholarships. APPLY HERE

Writers can submit entries for China Writing Contest

DEADLINE: APRIL 30, 2022 —Writers from around the world are invited to submit nonfiction entries for the Sixth Tone’s first “China Writing Contest.” APPLY HERE