Awards for excellence in digital journalism ($57,000)

DEADLINE: JUNE 9, 2022 — Journalists can apply for 2022 Online Journalism Awards (OJAs) and win up to $57,000 cash prizes. The OJAs honour excellence in digital journalism around the world.

In 2022, six of the awards come with $57,000 in prize money. The awards honour general excellence in online journalism, investigative data journalism, science reporting, community-centered journalism, public service and climate change.

Journalists can submit entries to any of these categories:

3M Truth in Science Award; Breaking News; Digital Video Storytelling; Excellence and Innovation in Visual Digital Storytelling; Excellence in Audio Digital Storytelling;
Excellence in Collaboration and Partnerships; Excellence in Immersive Storytelling; Excellence in Newsletters; Excellence in Social Justice Reporting; Excellence in Social Media Engagement; Explanatory Reporting; Feature; Gather Award in Community-Centered Journalism; General Excellence in Online Journalism; Knight Award for Public Service; Online Commentary; Sports; Student Journalism Award; The Al Neuharth Innovation in Investigative Journalism Award; The University of Florida Award for Investigative Data Journalism; and Topical Reporting.

Work must have been published between June 1, 2021 and May 31, 2022.

The deadline for submissions is June 9, 2022.



Mongabay seeks stories about Africa

Mongabay invites proposals from journalists for conventional news stories, in-depth features, investigative reports, profiles, and case studies. APPLY HERE

Gender equality grants at Pulitzer Center

DEADLINE: ROLLING —The Pulitzer Center on Crisis Reporting seeks to offer gender equality grants for investigative data-driven projects. APPLY HERE

Jamlab seeks entries for media database in Africa

Jamlab seeks to build a media database of established independent digital journalism and media organisations in Africa. APPLY HERE

Call for applications: RCDIJ Africa Fund

DEADLINE: ROLLING —The RCDIJ Africa Fund is currently open for applications from journalists across Africa. APPLY HERE

Submit entries for 2022 Global Peace Photo Award

DEADLINE: MAY 22, 2022 — Photographers around the world are invited to submit entries for the 2022 Global Peace Photo Award. APPLY HERE

NAMIP innovation challenge for Nigerian media

DEADLINE: MAY 31, 2022 —Applications are invited for the Nigeria Media Innovation Programme (NAMIP) innovation challenge for Nigerian media. Winners will receive up to $50,000 for their project. APPLY HERE

URTI international grand prize for documentary films

DEADLINE: JUNE 1, 2022 — The URTI International Grand Prize for Documentary Films seeks entries from journalists who produce documentaries for television. APPLY HERE

Video competition on migration, diversity, social inclusion themes

DEADLINE: JUNE 17, 2022 — Video competition invites youth worldwide to submit original and creative videos on the themes of migration, diversity and social inclusion. APPLY HERE

Apply for EGU’s Science Journalism Fellowship competition

DEADLINE: JUNE 17, 2022 —The European Geosciences Union (EGU) is accepting applications for the 11th edition of its Science Journalism Fellowship competition. APPLY HERE

ERC offers grants for investigative, environmental projects

DEADLINE: JUNE 30, 2022 —The Environmental Reporting Collective (ERC) is offering Collaborative Investigation Grants for investigative and environmental projects. APPLY HERE