ACDJ’s Inequality Reporting Fellowship opens for applications

DEADLINE: OCTOBER 1, 2023 —  Nigerian full-time or freelance journalists can participate in the Africa Centre for Development Journalism (ACDJ)’s Inequality Reporting Fellowship.

The inequality reporting fellowship is under the ACDJ’s Sub-national Development Data Accountability Reporting Project. It is part of a Collaborative Media Partnership supported by the MacArthur Foundation through the Wole Soyinka Centre for Investigative Journalism.

Selected journalists will participate in a two-day intensive training workshop in Lagos and four weeks of mentoring. They will also receive a reporting grant to execute special reports, which will be published or broadcast by their media houses as well as the ACDJ website.

The reports may be human angle based but will be also evidence-based and backgrounded/illustrated with data for the big picture.

Applicants should have a record of reporting on one or more of the following inequality themes: Economic Inequality, Education/Skills Inequality, Food & Nutrition Inequality, Gender Inequality / Gender Based Violence, Health Inequality, Multi-Dimensional Poverty and Underdevelopment, Negative Cultural Practices such as Forced Child ‘Marriage’ & Female Genital Mutilation / Cutting, People Living With Disability & Inequality, Political / Representation Inequality, Social Status Inequality, Water, Sanitation & Hygiene Inequality – And / Or  Census, Population and Demography-related issues in relationship to humanitarian emergencies, conflict, poverty and underdevelopment.

The deadline for applications is October 1, 2023.



MDIF Ventures wants to invest in growing media companies

DEADLINE: ROLLING — The Media Development Investment Fund (MDIF) Ventures wants to invest in young and growing media companies with a positive social impact and potential to scale. APPLY HERE

Howard G. Buffett Fund for female journalists

DEADLINE: ROLLING — Female journalists around the world can apply for the Howard G. Buffett Fund offered through the International Women’s Media Foundation (IWMF). APPLY HERE

O’Shaughnessy Fellowships offer innovative creators up to $100,000

DEADLINE: ROLLING — The O’Shaughnessy Fellowship is a one-year programme open to innovative creators around the world. APPLY HERE

Pulitzer Centre will fund investigative stories on science misinformation

DEADLINE: ROLLING — The Pulitzer Centre is offering grants for in-depth and investigative stories related to science misinformation, science denial, and the spread of pseudoscience. APPLY HERE

Grants for underreported stories in Sub-Saharan Africa

DEADLINE: ROLLING — The Pulitzer Center is offering grants for underreported stories in Sub-Saharan Africa. Proposals should focus on issues such as water and sanitation, land degradation and coastal erosion, education, maternal health, and climate resilience. APPLY HERE

Pulitzer Center is offering global reporting grants

DEADLINE: ROLLING —The Pulitzer Center’s global reporting grants support in-depth, high-impact reporting on critical issues that are often overlooked in the media, from global health to climate change. APPLY HERE 

Call for applications: RCDIJ Africa Fund

DEADLINE: ROLLING —The RCDIJ Africa Fund is currently open for applications from journalists across Africa. APPLY HERE

Mongabay seeks pitches from journalists

DEADLINE: ROLLING — Mongabay seeks story pitches from journalists interested in writing about carbon credits, offsets or markets. APPLY HERE

Unbias the News seeks pitches on underreported stories

DEADLINE: ROLLING — Unbias the News is accepting pitches on underreported stories with global relevance. APPLY HERE

Elevate Scholarship programme aims to strengthen news business

DEADLINE: OCTOBER 6, 2023 — The Elevate Scholarship programme, supported by the Google News Initiative, is designed to strengthen the future of the news business. APPLY HERE

2024 MPIL Journalist in Residence Fellowship seeks applications

DEADLINE: OCTOBER 6, 2023 — The Max Planck Institute for Comparative Public Law and International Law invites applications for its 2024 MPIL Journalist in Residence Fellowship. APPLY HERE

Commonwealth Short Story Prize is open for submissions

DEADLINE: NOVEMBER 1, 2023 — The 2024 Commonwealth Short Story Prize is now open for submissions from writers. APPLY HERE

Journalists can apply for AIPS sport media awards

DEADLINE: NOVEMBER 4, 2023 —Professional journalists are invited to submit entries for the 2023 AIPS Sport Media Awards. APPLY HERE

Apply for Chevening Scholarship programme 

DEADLINE: NOVEMBER 7, 2023 —Applications are currently open for the Chevening Scholarship programme designed to help candidates study in the UK. APPLY HERE