Fisayo Soyombo, other journalists unveiled as nominees for One World Media Awards

Fisayo Soyombo, awards
Fisayo Soyombo

The One World Media Awards has unveiled the full list of nominees for the 2020 edition of the awards.

The awards aim to celebrate the industry’s best media coverage of developing countries.

The 2020 edition of the awards received entries from over 60 countries.

Information available on the awards’ website says: “This year we were thrilled to receive entries from over 60 countries and we are delighted to announce the longlists across all 15 categories for this year’s awards!

“The final three nominees in each category will be announced later this month, and the winners will be presented at the online awards ceremony on Thursday 18 June 2020.”

Nigeria’s undercover journalist, Fisayo Soyombo is the only African among the 10 journalists who made the longlist for International Journalist of the Year category.

Below is the longlist in each category of the awards:

Children in Conflict Reporting Award sponsored by Save the Children

Digital Media Award sponsored by Google.

Guillermo Galdos and Thom Walker (Channel 4 News) with award presenter Derren Lawford, Creative Director of Woodcut Media

Environmental Impact Award

ALSO READ: Apply for GIJN webinar on reporting coronavirus pandemic

Feature Documentary Award

International Journalist of the Year Award

Linda Pressly, Josephine Casserly and Bridget Harney (BBC World Service) with award presenter Graham Dixon, Head of Radio, EBU

News Award

New Voice Award

Popular Features Award

Print Award

Radio and Audio Award

ALSO READ: Thomson Reuters Foundation launches Coronavirus Crisis Reporting Hub

Refugee Reporting Award sponsored by British Red Cross

Andrew Bell and Nisha Kapur (BBC Africa Eye) with award presenter Jonathan Charles, Head of Communications, EBRD

Short Film Award

Special Award

Student Award

  • The Burning Field – MA Ethnographic & Documentary Film, UCL
  • The Fish You (Don’t Know You Eat) – University of British Columbia’s Graduate School of Journalism
  • Fonja – Burg Giebichenstein University of Art and Design
  • Isle of Us – National Film and Television School
  • Miss Curvy – National Film and Television School
  • Scratching The Surface – University of the West of England
  • In Search Of Miao – MA Ethnographic & Documentary Film, UCL
  • Separation – MA Ethnographic & Documentary Film, UCL
  • They whisper but sometimes scream – Goldsmiths, University of London
  • While Seeking Help – University of Westminster

Television Documentary Award published by European Bank for Reconstruction and Development