IWMF unveils winners of 2020 Courage in Journalism Awards

IWMF courage in journalism awards
Jessikka Aro (top left), Yakeen Bido (top right), Gulchehra Hoja (bottom right) and Solafa Magdy (bottom left)

The International Women’s Media Foundation (IWMF) has unveiled the winners of the 2020 Courage in Journalism Awards.

The winners, according to the IWMF, are Jessikka Aro, Solafa Magdy; Yakeen Bido and Gulchehra Hoja from Finland, Egypt, Syria and Uighur of the Xinjiang region of China respectively.

The IWMF has been awarding female journalists who have shown exceptional courage in reporting for about 30 years.

The 2020 edition of the award recognises the courage of the winners in digital and broadcast journalism.

Jessikka Aro of Finland’s Yle reported from the frontlines of Russian information warfare, conducting courageous investigations inside troll factories while enduring incessant attacks and sexual harassment.

Imprisoned Egyptian multimedia journalist Solafa Magdy was arrested in Cairo in November 2019 following her reporting on stories of human rights and social unrest.

ALSO READ: Nigerian govts, stakeholders charged to develop journalism

Yakeen Bido, a freelance broadcast journalist in Syria, reports from Idleb, one of the most dangerous environments on earth. She is also the first person from Idleb to document the price of war on the vulnerable.

Gulchehra Hoja’s entire family faces constant government surveillance, harassment and have endured numerous detentions following her reports on Uighur detention camps in China.

The IWMF’s Executive Director, Elisa Lees Muñoz said: “Right now, the pursuit of truth, and the need for diverse journalism, is at a critical high.”

“This year’s Courage in Journalism Award winners remind us that those who tell the world’s most vital stories, whatever the risk may be, are our true heroes. We congratulate Jessikka, Solafa, Yakeen and Gulchehra for your spectacular work and uncommon bravery.”



Professional journalists didn’t want to work with us ― Kolawole, TheCable founder

The founder of TheCable online newspaper, Simon Kolawole, has revealed that many professional journalists preferred not to work with online news media organisations including the likes of TheCable. READ HERE


Call for entries: Global Peace Photo Award

DEADLINE: MAY 24, 2020 ― The Global Peace Photo Award formerly called the Alfred Fried Photography Award is inviting applications for the 2020 edition of the awards. APPLY HERE


COVID-19: Campus journalists charged on collaborative reporting

Publisher of Premium Times, Dapo Olorunyomi, has charged campus journalists to collaboratively use this period of lockdown to report about challenges facing the education sector in Nigeria. READ HERE