Photojournalists can apply for Best of Photojournalism Competition

DEADLINE: JANUARY 24, 2021 —  National Press Photographers Association (NPPA) is currently accepting applications for its annual Best of Photojournalism competition.

The competition recognizes the work of visual storytellers around the world and the steps it takes to execute compelling still and video imagery in the modern news era.

The competition is divided into five primary divisions: Still Photojournalism, Video Photojournalism, Picture Editing, Video Editing and Online Video Presentation & Innovation

There are nearly 100 categories across these divisions, ranging from breaking news and sports to the unique challenges of presidential election cycles and current cultural events.

All entries must have been made (or, for story categories, initially published) between January 1, 2020, and December 31, 2020.

The competition is supported through a partnership with the University of Georgia’s College of Journalism and Mass Communication and presented by Sony as its primary sponsor.

The deadline for entries is January 24, 2021.



Journalists can apply for GRID-Arendal grants to investigate environmental crime

DEADLINE: JANUARY 22, 2021 — GRID-Arendal is offering grants to investigative journalists worldwide to report environmental crime in developing countries. APPLY HERE

Apply for O’Brien Fellowship in public service journalism

DEADLINE: JANUARY 23, 2021 ― O’Brien Fellowship is now accepting applications for the 2021-22 academic year on in-depth public service journalism project which will focus on a regional, national or international topics. APPLY HERE

Journalists can apply for 2021 Hillman Prizes

DEADLINE: JANUARY 30, 2021 — Call for Entries for the 2021 Hillman Prizes is now open. APPLY HERE

Apply for 2021 COMESA Media Awards

DEADLINE: JANUARY 31, 2021 ― The Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA) has called for entries for the 2021 COMESA Media Awards. APPLY HERE

Data journalists worldwide can apply for Sigma Awards

DEADLINE: FEBRUARY 1, 2021 ― The Sigma Awards, sponsored by the Google News Initiative, is currently accepting entries for data journalism across the world. APPLY HERE