West African journalists can apply for WAMECA 2020


DEADLINE: SEPTEMBER 30, 2020 ― The Media Foundation for West Africa (MFWA) is calling for submissions for the 2020 edition of the West Africa Media Excellence Conference and Awards (WAMECA).

The 2020 edition of WAMECA, an initiative of MFWA to promote media excellence in the sub region, is slated for November 13-14, 2020 in Accra, Ghana and will focus on the theme: The Future of Journalism in Africa.

The Awards are opened to journalists from print, electronic and online media in Anglophone, Francophone and Lusophone countries in West Africa.

Applicants must be West African, working with and for a media organisation(s).

The Entry for the Awards must have been published or broadcast between the period January 1 to December 31, 2019.

WAMECA 2020 will honour outstanding works of journalism in West Africa in nine categories – Telecoms & ICT Reporting, Banking and Finance Reporting, Business and SMEs Reporting, Anti-Corruption Reporting, Investigative Reporting, Environmental Reporting, SDGs Reporting, Human Rights Reporting and Health Reporting.

The deadline for the submission of entries is on September 30, 2020 at 17.00 GMT. Finalists for WAMECA 2020 Awards will be announced on the first November 2, 2020.

The entry should be an original work published through a media outlet in West Africa and must show date of publication/broadcast and the medium in which the work was published.

Applicants may submit entries to a maximum of two categories. For each category, a maximum of two entries is permitted.

Winners for the awards will be announced at the West Africa Media Excellence Awards on November 14 at Alisa Hotel where the ceremony will be held.

The Conference will feature sessions on topical journalism issues and also provide opportunities for networking among journalists, editors, and experts from West Africa.





Dorothy and Lewis B. Cullman Centre Fellowship for scholars and writers

DEADLINE: SEPTEMBER 25, 2020 ― The Dorothy and Lewis B. Cullman Center for Scholars and Writers is calling for applications for its 2021-2022 International Fellowship. APPLY HERE


Apply for remote Nieman Visiting Fellowships

DEADLINE: SEPTEMBER 25, 2020 ― Nieman Foundation for Journalism at Harvard University is dedicating its next round of Visiting Fellowships to journalism projects that address coronavirus pandemic and the movement for racial justice in the US. APPLY HERE


Apply for Nigerian criminal justice reporting Fellowship

DEADLINE: MONDAY, SEPTEMBER 28, 2020 ― Civic Media Lab is inviting journalists to apply for the Nigerian Criminal Justice Reporting Fellowship. APPLY HERE


Apply for JSK and Big Local News data journalism grants

MONDAY, SEPTEMBER 28, 2020 ― Applications are open to journalists in any part of the world to be part of the new data journalism project by John S. Knight Journalism Fellowships at Stanford University and Big Local News, a project of the Stanford Journalism and Democracy Initiative. APPLY HERE


Apply for AMDF 2020 Journalist of the Year Award

DEADLINE: WEDNESDAY, SEPTEMBER 30, 2020 ― Africa Media Development Foundation (AMDF) has called for applications from interested professional, or freelance journalists in Africa for its 2020 Journalist of the Year Award. APPLY HERE


VACANCY: Africa Check is looking for freelance fact-checkers

DEADLINE: SEPTEMBER 30, 2020 ― Africa Check, Africa’s first fact-checking and verification platform is looking to engage the services of experienced freelance fact-checkers (journalists and researchers). APPLY HERE