Seventy Nigerian scientists, journalists for TReND’s science communication and journalism workshop

journalists, workshop, journalism

About 70 scientists and journalists from across six geopolitical zones of Nigeria have been selected to attend the Teaching and Research in Neuroscience for Development (TReND) in Africa`s science communication and journalism workshop scheduled for 14 – 16 October, 2019 in Abuja, Nigeria.

Science Communication Hub Nigeria is hosting the workshop under the German-based Teaching and Research in Neuroscience for Development (TReND) in Africa, a not-for-profit organization run by a group of research scientists at universities worldwide, and dedicated to fostering scientific excellence through teaching and public engagements in sub-Saharan Africa.

The two-day intensive training is part of a Wellcome Trust funded project themed: “African Science Literacy Network.” The workshop’s objective is to train scientists and journalists on the different methods of effectively engaging the public about scientific research towards bolstering science communication and reporting in Africa.

The TReND in Africa received over 300 applications from across 36 states in Nigeria and only 70 participants (36 scientists and 34 journalists) were selected. Selection criteria includes: application quality, geographical diversity, multimedia outlet representation, and gender balance.

All participants are expected to fully engage and participate in learning activities during the period of the workshop, share their experiences of covering science with other participants at the workshop, as well as network and collaborate to produce nuance science stories that will raise awareness of the importance of scientific research in Nigeria.

See the list of selected participants below:


1. Dr Chibueze Peter Ihekwereme, Nnamdi Azikiwe University, Awka, Anambra State

2. Dr Ighodaro Osasenaga, Macdonald Lead City University, Ibadan, Nigeria

3. Dr Barnabas Danborno, Ahmadu Bello University Zaria, Kaduna State

4. Dr Isyaku Yarube, Bayero University, Kano State

5. Royhaan Folarin, Olabisi Onabanjo University, Ogun State

6. Professor Busayo O. Olayinka, Ahmadu Bello University Zaria, Kaduna State

7. Dr Mansurah Abdulazeez, Bayero University, Kano State

8. Dr Temilola Oluseyi, University of Lagos, Lagos State

9. Dr Mohammed Auwal Ibrahim, Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria, Kaduna State

10. Dr Musliu Tolani, Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria, Kaduna State

11. Dr Angela M Danborno, Bingham University, Karu, Nasarawa State

12. Dr Ahmed Sherif Isa, Ahmadu Bello University Zaria, Kaduna State

13. Dr Oluyomi Stephen Adeyemi, Landmark University, Kwara State

14. Dr Zarah Yusuf, Ministry of Agriculture and Natural Resources, Damaturu, Yobe State

15. Dr Patricia Ihuaku Otuh, Veterinary Teaching Hospital, University of Ibadan, Oyo State

16. Dr Kenneth O. Adagba, Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria, Kaduna State

17. Dr Akinkunmi Ezekiel Olugbenga, Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife, Osun State

18. Dr Kazeem Ajeigbe, Igbinedion University, Okada, Edo State

19. Dr Abidemi James Akindele, University of Lagos, Lagos State

20. Dr Dauda E. Suleiman, Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University Teaching Hospital Bauchi, Bauchi State

21. Dr Adam Mustapha, University of Maiduguri, Borno State

22. Dr Kabiru Abubakar, Usmanu Danfodiyo University, Sokoto State

23. Ms. Samirah N. Abdu-Aguye, Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria, Kaduna State

24. Ms Thecla O. Ayoka, University of Nigeria, Nsukka, Enugu State

25. Ms Rashidatu Abdulazeez, Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria, Kaduna State

26. Dr Moses Bassey Ekong, University of Uyo, Uyo, Akwa Ibom

27. Dr Ikpefan Emmanuel Oise, Delta State University, Delta State

28. Dr Adamu Abubakar Sadeeq, Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria, Kaduna State

29. Zaid Muhammad, Yobe State University, Yobe State

30. Dr Alaribe Chinwendum Stephenie, University of Lagos, Lagos State

31. Dr Edith Reuben, Rivers State Primary Healthcare Management Board, Rivers State University, Rivers State

32. Mr Michael Chukwudi, Federal Ministry of Science and Technology, Abuja

33. Mr Liman Alhaji Goje, Shehu Sule College of Nursing and Midwifery Damaturu, Yobe State

34. Mr Adebare Johnson Adeleke, Modibbo Adama University of Technology, Yola, Adamawa State

35. Dr Omeike Sunday O, McPherson University, Seriki Sotayo, Ogun State

36. Mrs Abubakar Sa’adatu Aliyu, National Hospital Abuja


1. Mr Oladeinde Olawoyin, Premium Times

2. Justina Asishana, The Nation Newspaper

3. Mr Gbenga Salau, The Guardian Newspaper

4. Miss Owoseye Ayodamola, Premium Times

5. Mr Chibuike Alagboso, Nigeria Health Watch

6. Mr Adam Alqali, African Newspage

7. Miss Anthonia Obokoh, Business Day Newspaper

8. Mr Abdulsalam Mahmud, The Nation Newspaper and PR Nigeria

9. Mr Paul Adepoju, Freelance journalist for The Lancet, Devex, Quartz and SciDev.Net

ALSO READ: Rufus Giwa Poly wins Otufodunrin Media Quiz Competition

10. Mr Chima Azubuike, The Punch Newspaper

11. Femi Bolaji, Vanguard Newspaper

12. Fathiyya Auwal Abba, NTA Gombe

13. Mr Muhammad Bukar Umara, Photo journalist, Creative Director Co-Development Hub

14. Miss Chidindu Mmadu-Okoli, Freelance Health Journalist

15. Mr Segun Olaniyi, Freelance Reporter, The Guardian Newspaper

16. Mr. Isaac Ejakhegbe, Kwara State Coordinator and program officer, Wellbeing Foundation Africa

17. Mr Charles Agwam, Correspondent, Vanguard Newspaper

18. Mrs Omolara Afolayan, TVC News

19. Collins Nnabuife, The Tribune Newspaper

20. Mr Sunday Isuwa, Leadership Newspaper

21. Usman Abba Zanna, Yerwa Express News

22. Mr Hussaini Umar, Kano Reporters

23. Uchehara Ikedichukwu, Health Reporter, General Hospital Suleja, Niger state

24. Baraka Bashir, VOA Hausa Service, Freedom Radio

25. Miss Khadija Ishaq Bawas, Liberty TV Kano

26. Samuel Oyejola, Time Nigeria

27. Abubakar Haruna Galadanchi, Amunci Radio Kano

28. Ashiru Salim Mahuta, Daar Communications Plc Katsina, Jakadiya Radio and Televison

29. Ibrahim Tukur, Lafiya Dole Radio Nigerian Army

30. Mr. Oluchi Chibuzor, THISDAY Newspaper

31. Mustapha Adamu Inadabawa, Arewa24

32. Salamatu Muhammad, Northeast Star

33. Abdullahi Tsanni, Freelance science journalist*

This post first appeared on Science Communication Hub Nigeria.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.