Three Nigerians, others emerge finalists for Continental Journalism Awards on AU Charter

AU Charter, Continental Journalism Awards on AU charter, WAMECA

The Consortium of 14 prominent civil society organisations working to advance the implementation of the African Charter on Democracy, Elections and Governance (ACDEG) has announced the list of finalists for its Continental Journalism Awards on the AU Charter.

The Awards received over 500 entries from 33 African countries. A 5-member committee of judges after a thorough review of the entries shortlisted 6 finalists from 4 countries.

The shortlisted finalists for the Continental Journalism Awards on AU Charter include Destiny Onyemihia, Voice of Nigeria, Nigeria; Julius Barigaba, The East African, Uganda; Wagdy Sawahel, University World News – Africa edition, Egypt; Afeez Hanafi, Punch, Nigeria; Momar Niang, Ouestaf News, Senegal and Vanessa Adie Offiong, Daily Trust, Nigeria.

All six finalists will be hosted at an Awards ceremony in Ghana which will be held together with the 2019 edition of the West Africa Media Excellence Awards (WAMECA).

ALSO READ: Wole Soyinka Centre invites entries for investigative reporting award

The Awards Ceremony will host prominent personalities such as the Director of the Political Affairs of the African Union, Dr Khabele Matlosa, and the Chairperson of the Information Regulator of South Africa, Advocate Pansy Tlakula as Guests of Honour.

All the finalists will receive a Certificate of Merit. Ultimate winners will receive plaques, certificates and cash prizes.

The Continental Journalism Awards on the AU Charter forms part of activities under the “Africa We Want” project, titled “Mobilising Civil Society Support for Implementation of the African Governance Architecture,” which is being implemented by the consortium of 14 CSOs with funding support from the European Commission.

The Africa We Want project Consortium is made up the Media Foundation for West Africa (MFWA), ActionAid Denmark, the West Africa Civil Society Organisations’ Forum (WACSOF), ActionAid Ghana, Southern Africa Development Community Council of Non-Governmental Organisations (SADC-CNGO), ActionAid Mozambique, ActionAid Nigeria, Mass Public Opinion Institute (MPOI) in Zimbabwe, ActionAid Zambia, ActionAid Tanzania, East African Civil Society Organisations’ Forum (EACSOF), ActionAid Uganda, ActionAid Sierra Leone and ActionAid Zimbabwe.