Apply for Lorenzo Natali Media Prize 2020 (€10,000)

Lorenzo Natali Media Prize

DEADLINE: SUNDAY, MARCH 15, 2020 ― The Lorenzo Natali Media Prize was launched in 1992 to recognise and celebrate excellence in reporting on development issues. It was created by DG DEVCO, and named after Lorenzo Natali, a precursor of European development policy.

Established 28 years ago by the European Commission, the Lorenzo Natali Media Prize is awarded in memory of Lorenzo Natali, a former Commissioner for Development and staunch defender of freedom of expression, democracy, human rights and development. He served three terms as one of Italy’s European Commissioners.

Natali played an important role in the EU accession process of Greece, Spain and Portugal. He also helped enact key measures to combat pollution and improve living conditions across Europe. In his final four-year term as Commissioner, from 1985 until 1989, he was handed responsibility for cooperation and development policy in the Commission under President Jacques Delors. It was in this capacity that he set up a broad network of relations with the governments and leaders of African, Caribbean and Pacific (ACP) countries.


  • There will be up to three winners. Categories will not be awarded if quality is not met. Each winner will receive 10,000€. The winner of the Best Emerging Journalist category will also be offered a work experience opportunity with a media partner.
  • The winners will be invited to participate in the Award Ceremony to be held in Brussels on 9-10 June 2020.
  • The European Commission will cover the cost of their travels. In the case of jointly authored or produced items, please note that only one person will be sponsored to join the Award Ceremony.

ALSO READ: BBC World’s Komla Dumor Award 2020: Seeking a rising star of African journalism


The Prize is open to journalists in the following three categories:

  • Grand Prize: reporting published by a media-based in one of the European Union’s partner countries on development and cooperation.
  • Europe Prize: reporting published by a media based in the European Union*.
  • Best Emerging Journalist Prize: open to journalists under 30 whose reporting was published by a media based in the European Union* or in one of its partner countries on development and cooperation.
  • Photo reportages are not eligible for the Prize.
  • Entries must have been published (print or online) or broadcasted (radio or television) between 10 March 2019 and 9 March 2020.
  • For the UK, reporting must have been published between 10 March 2019 and 31 January 2020.
  • English, French and Spanish are the official languages of the Prize. However, we accept all languages as long as a translation in English, French or Spanish is provided. The entries will be evaluated on the basis of translated texts.
  • For text-based entries, the length limit is 2,300 words. Video and audio entries can be up to 10 minutes long.

DEADLINE: March 15 2020

To apply and for more information visit here.