Media houses can apply for Google Journalism Emergency Relief Fund

google, Journalism Emergency Relief Fund

DEADLINE: APRIL 29, 2020– Google has launched a global Journalism Emergency Relief Fund through the Google News Initiative to support small and medium-sized news organisations producing original news for local communities

The Fund is aimed at supporting the production of original journalism for local communities in the face of the COVID-19 pandemic.

Application Process
Submission of applications starts on Wednesday, April 15th, 2020 and end on April 29th, 2020 at 11:59 p.m. However, it may be extended or shortened at Google’s discretion.

The news organisations are expected to fill in basic information via the online application form, providing basic information about the publications and overall organisation (if applicable) and inform google on how the funds will be spent.

Application Eligibility Requirements
• Small and medium-sized news organisations producing original news for local communities during this time of crisis.
• Eligible applicants must have a digital presence and have been in operation for at least 12 months.
• Newsrooms employing between 2 – 100 full-time employees (FTE) journalists.
• Local publishers employing more than 100 FTE journalists can still apply and will be considered subject to Google’s discretion, based mainly on differing needs in different countries/regions.
• Organisations must be incorporated or registered in one of the eligible geographies. Unincorporated organizations must be based in one of the eligible geographies.
• Eligible applicants need to have a focus on core news provision, i.e. not lifestyle, sports, business-to-business.
• Eligible applicants can include for-profit or nonprofit traditional news organizations, digital natives, radio and/or TV broadcasters.
• Government-owned entities and individuals are not eligible to apply.

Eligible Regions
Organisations must be incorporated or registered in one of the eligible geographies (see below). Unincorporated organisations must be based in one of the eligible geographies. Please note that certain eligible geographies may have specific laws that apply to the receipt of funding from the Journalism Emergency Relief Fund and you are responsible for your compliance with any such laws, including, for example, by obtaining all necessary permissions from relevant authorities prior to receiving funding.

Eligible Geographies

Asia Pacific
Australia, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Brunei, Cambodia, Cook Islands, East Timor, Easter Island, Fiji, Hong Kong SAR, India, Indonesia, Japan, Laos, Macau SAR, Malaysia, Maldives, Mongolia, Myanmar, Nepal, New Caledonia, New Zealand, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Samoa, Singapore, Solomon Islands, South Korea, Sri Lanka, Taiwan, Thailand, Tokelau, Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu, Vietnam

Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom.


Middle East and Africa
Algeria, Angola, Bahrain, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Congo (Brazzaville), Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC), Djibouti, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, The Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Iraq, Israel, Ivory Coast, Jordan, KSA, Kenya, Kuwait, Lesotho, Libya, Lebanon, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Palestine, Oman, Qatar, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, Sudan, South Sudan, Swaziland, Tanzania, Togo, Tunisia, Turkey, Uganda, UAE, Western Sahara, Zambia, Zimbabwe

North America
Canada, United States, United States Overseas Territories

Latin America
Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay