Four Nigerian journalists selected for climate reporting fellowship

CLimate fellowship
Clockwise: Abba, Oyedeji, Ugwa and Olawoyin

Climate Tracker has selected 12 African journalists for it’s African Sustainable Energy Reporting Fellowship.

The fellowship is organised in collaboration with Hivos Energy.

Among those selected for the fellowship are four Nigerian journalists including a staff of the Premium Times, Oladeinde Olawoyin; two staff members of The ICIR, Niyi Oyedeji and Amos Abba; and a former intern with The ICIR, Jennifer Ugwa.

Others are Charles Pensulo, Daniel Samson, Ahmed Saba, Diana Taremwa Karakire, Lungelo Ndhlovu, Allan Ngige and Robert Kibet.

Managing Director of Climate Tracker, Chris Wright stated during the announcement of the fellows that it was a difficult task selecting the final 12 candidates from the pool of applicants.

Wright who said Climate Tracker has supported young journalists around the world, “from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe, Costa Rica to Fiji,” explained that Climate Tracker would support the fellows in telling in-depth stories focusing on key sustainable energy challenges facing their respective countries.

He further said that the fellowship aims at expanding the journalism skills and experience of the fellows to enable them to dive into energy challenges that they may not have explored before.

He further added that the fellows will “collaborate with the other fellows from across Africa, learn from the guidance and additional training provided by Climate Tracker, publish an in-depth story in a national publication and as well work with Climate Tracker to pitch their stories to international publications.”

The media support organisation is a global platform committed to tracking the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNCCC) in countries across the world.



Apply for PTCIJ’s natural resource, extractives journalism training

DEADLINE: JULY 31, 2020 ― Applications are invited from journalists for the PTCIJ’s Natural Resource and Extractives Programme (NAREP) virtual training on Nigeria’s Natural Resource and Extractive Sector Reporting in Nigeria. APPLY HERE


Premium Times publisher, three others named international press freedom awardees

The publisher of Premium Times, Dapo Olorunyomi, and three other journalists, Shahidul Alam, Mohammad Mosaed and Svetlana Prokopyev have been named the international press freedom awardees by The Committee to Protect Journalists. APPLY HERE


Stakeholders push for accurate, relevant data at Wole Soyinka 12th lecture

Stakeholders, at an event organised by the Wole Soyinka Centre Investigative Journalism (WSCIJ) to mark Professor Wole Soyinka’s 86th birthday, have pushed for Nigeria to have accurate and relevant data towards national development. APPLY HERE


McGraw Fellowship for Business Journalism

DEADLINE: JULY 31, 2020 – McGraw Centre for Business Journalism, an initiative of the Craig Newmark Graduate School of Journalism at the City University of New York, is calling for applications for its 2020 McGraw Fellowship for Business Journalism. APPLY HERE


Apply for 2020 Thomson Foundation Young Journalist Award 

DEADLINE: AUGUST 14, 2020 — Journalists below the age of 30 can from countries with a Gross National Income (GNI) per capita of less than $20,000 can apply for the 2020 Thomson Foundation Young Journalist Award. APPLY HERE


Dubawa trains 13 journalists for 2020 fact-checking fellowship

In commencement of its 2020 Fact-Checking Fellowship, the Premium Times Center for Investigative Journalism (PTCIJ), through its fact-checking project, Dubawa, has selected 13 journalists from Nigeria and Ghana. READ HERE


Meedan supports African non-profits, others to tackle COVID-19 misinformation

Meedan has supported twenty-five non-profit organisations as part of its efforts to tackle health misinformation, particularly those arising from the novel COVID-19. READ HERE


Radio journalists can apply for £6,000 grant

DEADLINE: JULY 31, 2020 ― Radio journalists and producers worldwide can apply for the Radio and Audio Funding Award (RAFA). APPLY HERE


16th annual African Investigative Journalism Conference (AIJC) to hold online

Organisers of the African Investigative Journalism Conference have announced that the 16th edition of the conference will hold online this year. READ HERE


Freelance journalists can apply for Rory Peck Awards

DEADLINE: AUGUST 10, 2020 ― Freelance journalists including reporters, filmmakers, photojournalists and camera operators across the world can apply for the Rory Peck Awards APPLY HERE


Dorothy and Lewis B. Cullman Centre Fellowship for scholars and writers

DEADLINE: SEPTEMBER 25, 2020 ― The Dorothy and Lewis B. Cullman Center for Scholars and Writers is calling for applications for its 2021-2022 International Fellowship. APPLY HERE


Apply for Pulitzer Center on Crisis Reporting data journalism grants

DEADLINE: ROLLING BASIS ― The Pulitzer Center on Crisis Reporting is accepting applications for innovative data-driven journalism projects that spotlight underreported issues. APPLY HERE


Apply for $1000 SJN solutions journalism grant

Newsrooms can now apply to the Solutions Journalism Network (SJN) for funds to sponsor and cover solutions journalism reports. APPLY HERE


ICFJ, ONA launch stress management online course for journalists

Journalists and others can attend a free programme, the Self-Investigation that provides learning tools to manage stress. ENROL HERE


World Press Freedom Conference 2020 to hold online

Owing to the effects of the COVID19 pandemic, the World Press Freedom Conference 2020 (WPFC 2020) is to take the form of a Global Digital Event. READ HERE


Apply for One World Media 2020 Coronavirus Reporting Award 

DEADLINE: JULY 30, 2010 ― Applications are now open for the Coronavirus Reporting Award 2020. The award is supported by the European Bank for Reconstruction and Development (EBRD). APPLY HERE


Apply for Alfred Friendly Press Fellowship

DEADLINE: AUGUST 31, 2020 Applications are now open for the Alfred Friendly Press fellows worldwide. APPLY HERE